Songs from the north I, II & III

Box Vinil

Available from 02/08/2019

49.90 €

Add to Cart


More from this Band

LP - Boxset - black 5LP & LP-Booklet in Slipcase
Repress 2019

“Making a triple album in this godforsaken digital and modern day and age...Many will say it’s madness. I say it is to bring worth, heart and respect back into the music and to the album format where it belongs. This should never turn into a shallow fast food industry where music is only downloaded one song at a time. These albums hold life, death, gloom, beauty and despair in their deepest levels and forms. The three chapters are different but connected, one long journey through these songs written up here in the North”, comments main songwriter and guitarist Juha Raivio on the new, bold, adventurous and characteristically dark triple full-length album of Finland’s melancholic death-doom masters SWALLOW THE SUN!
“Songs From The North I” continues the band’s classic tradition of top class death/doom, “Songs from the North II” is a beautiful, acoustic foray representing the group’s ability to unplug and revel in darkness whereas the final “Songs from the North III” is the most extreme recording ever done by SWALLOW THE SUN offering crushing, sinister funeral doom alluding to the likes of Thergothon, Evoken or Skepticism. “It’s such a massive album,” vocalist Mikko Kotamäki says. “Definitely not the easiest piece to swallow. I hope people will appreciate the amount of work we’ve put into it after hearing it. It’s real music with real thoughts behind it. From uplifting to depressing and everything between. Like human life. No disposable shit.”
“Music is holy, albums are holy”, Juha Raivio points out and Century Media Records fully support this ethic with physical formats truly embracing the thought: “Songs From The North I, II & III” will be available as Special Edition 3CD Box containing three Digipaks plus a booklet and Ltd. Deluxe Edition 5LP+3CD Box with each album housed in a gatefold sleeve. Enjoy this masterpiece and do not miss the band’s European headlining tour in November/December 2015.
LP 1 Side A
01. With You Came the Whole of the World's Tears (09:03) 
02. 10 Silver Bullets (07:12) 
LP 1 Side B
01. Rooms and Shadows (07:20) 
02. Heartstrings Shattering (07:46) 
LP 2 Side A
01. Silhouettes (05:56) 
02. The Memory of Light (06:17) 
LP 2 Side B
01. Lost & Catatonic (07:07) 
02. From Happiness to Dust (08:39) 
LP 3 Side A
01. The Womb of Winter (03:35) 
02. The Heart of a Cold White Land (04:47) 
03. Away (05:22) 
04. Pray for the Winds to Come (05:28) 
LP 3 Side B
01. Songs from the North (05:16) 
02. 66,50'N,28,40'E (06:42) 
03. Autumn Fire (05:46) 
04. Before the Summer Dies (05:37) 
LP 4 Side A
01. The Gathering of Black Moths (13:00) 
LP 4 Side B
01. 7 Hours Late (10:02) 
LP 5 Side A
01. Empires of Loneliness (11:02) 
LP 5 Side B
01. Abandoned by the Light (08:48) 
02. The Clouds Prepare for Battle (09:05) 
CD 1
01. With You Came the Whole of the World's Tears (09:03) 
02. 10 Silver Bullets (07:12) 
03. Rooms and Shadows (07:20) 
04. Heartstrings Shattering (07:46) 
05. Silhouettes (05:56) 
06. The Memory of Light (06:17) 
07. Lost & Catatonic (07:07) 
08. From Happiness to Dust (08:39) 
CD 2
01. The Womb of Winter (03:35) 
02. The Heart of a Cold White Land (04:47) 
03. Away (05:22) 
04. Pray for the Winds to Come (05:28) 
05. Songs from the North (05:16) 
06. 66,50'N,28,40'E (06:42) 
07. Autumn Fire (05:46) 
08. Before the Summer Dies (05:37) 
CD 3
01. The Gathering of Black Moths (13:00) 
02. 7 Hours Late (10:02) 
03. Empires of Loneliness (11:02) 
04. Abandoned by the Light (08:48) 
05. The Clouds Prepare for Battle (09:05

No comments here, be the first!

Leave a review

Only registered users can comment.

Login to comment